CITY OF CORNELL MINUTES OF COMMON COUNCIL MEETING JANUARY 18, 2024

7:00 p.m. Mayor Mark Larson called the regular council meeting to order at the City Council Chambers. The meeting opened with the pledge of allegiance and a moment of silence honoring all individuals that have or are protecting our freedom. Minutes taken by Administrator/Clerk-Treasurer DeJongh.

Council members present: Terry Smith, Bill Kvapil, Sandra Schecklman, Debra Semanko and Floyd Hickethier. Absent: Steve Turany.

Guests present: Ginna Young, Ray French, Carol Moussette, Bri Lahodik & Chris Wolff..

Motion Hickethier, Seconded Smith to accept the agenda as printed. Carried 5 ayes, 1 absent.

Motion Smith, seconded Kvapil to approve the regular council meeting minutes of January 4, 2024. Carried 5 ayes, 1 absent.

Mayor Mark Larson introduced Ray French, representing the Wisconsin Economic Development Corp. (WEDC). Mr. French shared information about the WEDC and the resources they have available for communities especially in revitalization of Main Streets.

Motion Hickethier, Seconded Smith to approve Ordinance #24-1 creating a Recycling Special Charge. Carried 5 ayes, 1 absent.

Motion Smith, Seconded Kvapil to approve Resolution #24-1 setting the recycling charge for 2024 at \$2.30/month per household to be billed on the monthly utility bill. Carried 5 ayes, 1 absent.

Motion Hickethier, Seconded Smith to approve an engineering services contract proposed by Cedar Corp. for the Bates St. and N. 5th St. reconstruction project. Carried 5 ayes, 1 absent.

Motion Smith, Seconded Kvapil to approve a professional services agreement with Hydro Corp Inc. to provide non-residential cross-connection inspection services. Carried 5 ayes, 1 absent.

Motion Smith, Seconded Kvapil to approve bills totaling \$321,193.29. Roll Call Vote Carried 5 ayes, Turany absent.

Forthcoming Events.

• Candlelight sledding and cross-country ski event Feb 10th Brunet Island State Park Pavilion.

Motion Hickethier, Seconded Smith to adjourn. Carried 6 ayes.

Adjourned at 7:47 pm	
Date Approved	_
Date Approved	
Mark Larson, Mayor	David DeJongh, Administrator/Clerk-Treasurer